h1

The Unknown (and unimportant, by comparison) Side

March 6, 2008

I really really really need to go to the bathroom and I’m starving. More than anything, I REALLY need to go to the bathroom, but there’s only one of each of us, so there’s no one to switch with me. I’ve been on air for the past 4 hours straight – we’ve been on longer, but it doesn’t help my poor bladder.

It reminds me of the day when Saddam Hussein was caught. We had just finished the morning news (from 6-9 am) and as we were leaving the control room, the head producer said “it looks like they caught Saddam – we’re going on air.”

We literally went back to our seats and were on air for hours – it was one of the hardest shows I had done – and at around 1, the head director of the channel came to relieve the morning director. Since TECHNICALLY it wasn’t 1 yet, I literally pulled the director into my room, showed him what was going on (“Sadam archives on 1, Udai and Kusai dead on 2, We’ve got him! on 3, Sadam beard on 4!”) and RAN to the bathroom.

Except there was so much going on that there were “traffic jams” going on in the newsroom, all of which is visible from the newscast going on live. This in itself isn’t so much of an issue – people are used to it and it gives “a feel” or action – except I had about 3 seconds to go to the bathroom, so I had to sprint and, unfortunately, my sprint was caught on live TV.

I wouldn’t’ve known this had ALL my friends called to ask me if I was OK. Too funny. (Not so much, but the more I type, the less I realize my bladder is exploding).

Leave a Reply

